PALE FACE

Kimberly Fray
2 min readNov 2, 2018

--

I am not the concealer that masks my face. I am not the waterproof mascara that lengthens my lashes.

I am not the matt lipstick that adds volume to my lips.

I am not the eye-shadow that brings definition to my eyes or the liner that adds the drama.

I am a pale face.

I am the shadows underneath my eyes, reflecting the life I’ve lived and yet to live.

I am the thin lips that still manage a smile through storms.

I am the tired, squinted eyes that have seen so much hurt and search for much more love.

I am the brown mane of hair that crowns my small face.

I am the natural blush in my cheeks, borne from romance and sadness.

I am my uncombed and uncontrollable brows.

I am my imperfections and my scars.

I am my fears and my mistakes.

I am my body and my skin.

I am a pale face goddess,

Wrapped in golden light,

Fighting to escape from behind the mask.

-Kimberly Flanagan

--

--